Tron – 1982 film

June 18, 2007 at 10:12 pm (computers, kids) (, , )

This was a surprise – picked this up this weekend for 50p on video.  Haven’t seen this film for 20 years!  This is a real blast from the past.  I remember seeing Tron fairly soon after it came out.  I was in mid teens and into computers and games (I still have my Spectrum 128 in the loft).  Never did really understand it much at the time, but thought it was a great film anyway.  The thing I remember most is playing the video games whilst on holiday – it wasn’t long before you have the music and similar graphics in the arcades and lets face it, the graphics in Tron are pretty unique.  Apparently this was the first real use of computer graphics in a film, but it wasn’t exclusively CG – most of it was still traditional animation and special effects.

Seeing it again now, it really feels like it was ahead of its time.  I remember wondering at the time if all computers were somehow connected in the ‘digital world’ but then that didn’t really make sense in a time of tape drives and standalone machines.  I ended up concluding that the world of Tron must have been inside a single computer, and there would be other worlds in other computers.  Of course, 25 years on, with every computer connected to every other one (well, nearly anyway), the concept behind Tron could be expanded so much, and potentially be much more sinister!

I read on wikipedia that Disney were thinking about a new Tron, based around the Internet, but the collective opinion seems like it won’t happen.  Actually, I don’t think they should anyway.  Tron is a child of its time and is all the better for it in my opinion.  I wonder what my kids will make of it.

Enjoyed watching this one again.

Kevin.

Leave a Reply

